Frequently Asked Questions

Browse our FAQs for help with your Australia Post Mobile service.

Australia Post Mobile


Can I keep my current mobile number when moving to Australia Post Mobile?

Yes. When you activate your SIM, you can request to use your existing mobile number. There may be costs from your existing provider to transfer your number. 

What is Australia Post Mobile's network coverage in Australia?

Australia Post Mobile uses the Optus 3G and 4G Plus network. Optus provides unrestricted access to its network Australia-wide and offers extensive coverage, with 3G and 4G Plus coverage available to 98% of the Australian population.

Can I change plans?

Yes, as there’s no lock-in contract with Australia Post Mobile, you can easily change plans. Plans can be upgraded or downgraded when your plan has expired, which occurs when all of your included data has been utilised, or your plan end date has elapsed.

How do I change my plan?

Log into My Account and select 'change plan' from the 'Manage plan' section. Your new plan will take effect from the next billing period if your current plan is still active or immediately if your plan is expired.    

How do I pay my bill each billing period?

During activation, you can pay using a credit or debit card. You can save the card details for easier future payments and select Auto Renew at the end of each billing period. Once activated, you can pay for your next billing period with a voucher or a credit or debit card.


Your next plan needs to be paid for during the current plan’s validity period to ensure your service is not interrupted. As your service is paid upfront, you will not receive a bill, but we’ll email you when your plan is nearing its end.

What happens if I don't have a credit card saved?

We highly recommend that you have a credit card saved in your account to ensure uninterrupted service. Once your 30-day billing period has ended, the service will be suspended if no payment is received, and you won't be able to make calls, send SMS or use mobile data. 


Seven days after your account is suspended and no payment is received, your service will be deactivated and your number will be placed on hold for 180 days. If you resume your service within this 180-day period, your number will be reactivated. After 180 days, to resume an Australia Post Mobile Service, you’ll need to order a new SIM card which will come with a new phone number. 

How do I change my contact details?

Call us on 1300 196 916 (Mon-Fri 8:30am - 6pm, Saturday 9am – 2pm AEST, excluding public holidays) to change your details, including your address, email address and phone number.

Can I use Australia Post Mobile overseas?

International roaming for Australia Post Mobile is not currently available.

Can I have more than one SIM on my account?

Yes, you can have additional 30-day SIMs on your account. You can add a new SIM by logging in to the main account during activation. While additional SIMs can be used by other people, all services will use the same billing cycle. 365-day services can only have one SIM per account. 

How do I check my current data usage?

Log in to your My Account and select Overview. You will receive SMS notifications within 48 hours once you have reached 50%, 85%, 95% and 100% of your data usage.

What if I use up all my data?

When your data limit has been reached, you'll have the opportunity to top up your included data ($5 per 1GB) or choose a new plan with a higher data limit. 

Will I receive updates on my data usage?

We’ll keep you updated on your data usage with SMS notifications advising you when your data usage reaches 50%, 85%, 95% and 100%. 


If you reach 100% of your data allowance included in your selected plan, you’ll still be able to make and receive calls and send texts, but you’ll be unable to access data. You can choose to buy additional data at $5 per 1GB to get through to the end of the current billing period or purchase a new plan. 


What happens to unused data?

Any unused data expires at the end of each billing period. Data is counted in kilobytes (KB) and includes uploads and downloads.

What's the difference between 'data gifting' and 'data sharing'?

Data gifting allows data to be gifted between Australia Post Mobile users within Australia for use on 30 day domestic plans. You may gift data in increments of 1GB up to a maximum of 5GB per billing period. You may only gift data which is available in your current billing period. If you have less than 1.5GB remaining of your included data, you may not gift that data. If your plan allows data sharing, you must be the primary account holder to gift data.


When you gift data, your included data allowance will be reduced for that billing period only. For example, if your included data allowance is 5GB and you gift 1GB, your data allowance for that billing period will be 4GB. Gifted data will be available for use once the recipient has used all their included data, bonus data or data packs. Unused gifted data will expire at the end of the recipient’s billing period. Once you gift data, this cannot be reversed. There is no fee to gift data.


Data sharing allows data to be shared between users on the same billing account within Australia. If your billing account has multiple data sharing plans, all plans will be pooled together and shared across all users on the billing account. If you wish to stop sharing data, users will need to transfer to separate billing accounts. Any unused data expires at the end of each billing period. Data is counted in kilobytes, and includes uploads and downloads.

Sharing data


Who can I share data with?

Data is shared with all services on the same Australia Post Mobile account.

What if I don't want to share data with all SIMs in my account?

If you don't want a SIM to access the shared data pool, it will need to be removed from your account. Contact us on 1300 196 916 (Mon-Fri 8:30am - 6pm, Saturday 9am – 2pm AEST, excluding public holidays) to request this change.

What if all data within all SIMs is used up?

Once the shared data pool is used up, all services will be considered expired. You can then choose to either top up data at $5 per 1GB or purchase new 30-day plans for all SIMs.

Gifting data


Who can I gift data to?

Data can be gifted to anyone who has an active Australia Post Mobile Service.

How do I gift data?

If you are on a 30 day plan you can gift data to other Australia Post Mobile users - 1GB per gift, up to a maximum of 5GB per billing period. You must have more than 1.5GB remaining to gift data. 

- Go to My Account and navigate to Data Gifting. 

- Enter the recipient's Australia Post Mobile number and click 'Gift'. 

- Once gifted, the data will appear in your account as data used. 

- The recipient can use the gifted data when their own included data has been used up. 

- Gifted data does not rollover between billing periods.

When does the data I gift expire?

Data you gift will be added to the recipient's data allowance and expire at the end of the recipient's billing period.

If I use my data up, can I get my gifted data back?

Data can be gifted to anyone with an Australia Post Mobile Service and the recipient can gift the data back in the same way.

Other


I have a question that isn’t answered here. Where can I get more support ?

Call us on 1300 196 916 for help (Mon-Fri 8:30am - 6pm, Saturday 9am – 2pm AEST, excluding public holidays).